Urban Cubano: Rise of a Sneakerhead (Pt. 1)

I’m not sure why but I really don’t like the term “sneakerhead.” Maybe it’s because it feels dismissive: it carries some sort of negative connotation.

But as far back as I can remember I’ve been really particular about my sneakers. That didn’t necessarily mean they had to be anything special, I’ve owned my fair share of Chucks, but I always had to love any sneaker I purchased.

In high school every “cool kid” knew everything there was to know about sneakers, primarily Jordan’s, because at the time Jordan was on top of the whole industry. Other kids knew the actual days that sneakers came out and how limited or popular they were expected to be. To me it always seemed ridiculous, to care enough about something that’s on your feet, that you literally do not see unless you are staring at the ground.

And yet, here we are.

I think a lot of it has to do with self-expression. At my job the uniform is all black. Black shirt, black pants. But they let you wear any sneakers you want, which makes it feel less like a dictatorship. But that level of expression is essential. Because sneakers are subtle but have the potential to impact something as small as a conversation starter, or a compliment that gets you through the day.

While I am not yet at the stage of spending upwards of $200 on a pair of shoes, I really have dipped my toe into the sneakerhead lifestyle.

And I don’t even like that term.

Leave a Reply

