Urban Cubano: How to Start a Roth IRA

Howdy.

So you’ve decided to start a Roth IRA? Excellent.

First off let’s discuss exactly what a Roth IRA is. After all you wouldn’t want to sign up for something with which you know nothing about.

So?…..What’s a Roth IRA?

If you could explain it to me that would be great because I just started one as per the recommendation of a friend, transferred some money into it and now realize that I don’t actually make enough disposable income to invest in anything.

Back to the point. I started one on E-trade. I put some money in to invest into some stocks, companies who’s products I buy.

For example I buy a lot of sneakers, so I looked at share prices for Nike and Adidas and both are well out of my budget.

It’s depressing.

I feel like I do this though. I never do enough research into things that are wildly serious and important but I will turn around and read 3,000 different Amazon reviews on the best hair clippers to buy.

So now I have a Roth IRA. I am still not entirely sure what that means, but I think it’s a good thing?

One of my clients said he was surprised I was even thinking of these things at the age of 24 because he didn’t start considering any of it until he was older.

On one hand my philosophy is why wait and on the other it’s why rush. There seems to be no in between.

A similar thing happens when I struggle with having perspective. I am either able to look 30 years ahead and not sweat the current state of my life, or I fantasize about jumping in front of a train so that it’ll all be over.

Weirdly enough there’s no in-between.

I used the term “weirdly” 3 times in this post and I’m not sure how I feel about it.

Peace Yo.

Leave a Reply

